Geographia Polonica (2014) vol. 87, iss. 2

Delimitation and typology of functional urban regions in Poland based on commuting, 2006

Przemysław Śleszyński

Geographia Polonica (2014) vol. 87, iss. 2, pp. 317-320 | Full text

This study presents the delimitation of functional urban regions in Poland modified using the Nyusten-Daceymethod based on the data regarding commuting in 2006. The modification involved establishing an administrative and settlement hierarchy to serve as the basis on which the order of precedence of flows to individual communes was determined, and supplementing it with the combination of inflows and outflows in a given hubregion. A total of 456 individual regions were isolated, including 1 capital region, 21 regional, 54 sub-regional, 212 local (powiat), and 168 other local regions.

Keywords: functional urban region, daily urban system, commuting, Nystuen-Dacey method, Poland

Przemysław Śleszyński [], Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Geography and Spatial Organization Twarda 51/55, 00-818 Warsaw: Poland